Minsk Governorate

Minsk Governorate existed in 1793–1921, with Minsk city being its administrative center. It was established on 1793.04.23 after the Second Partition of Poland. Its territories covered Minsk and partially Navahrudak and Brest Voivideship of GdoL. From 1795.05.03 until 1796 consisted of an independent Minsk Viceroyalty. Initially the Governorate consisted on 13 counties: Bobruisky (Babruysky), Borisovksy, Wilejsky, David-Gorodoksky, Dzisensky, Dokshitsky, Igumensky, Mozyrksy, Minsky, Nesvizhsky, Postavsky, Pinksy, Slutzky. Rechitzky county was acquired in November 1796; David-Gorodoksky, Dokshitsky, Nesvishsky, Postavsky counties were demolished.

Navahrudak county was acquired in December 1842 from Grodno Governorate, Wilensky and Dzisensky counties were, in turn, transferred to Wilen Governorate. Since then and up until 1919, Minsk Governorate was administratively separated into the following counties: Bobruisky, Borisovsky, Igumensky, Mozyrsky, Minsky, Navahrudsky, Pinsky, Rechitzky, Slutzky.


Genealogy research is a difficult intellectual task which requires vast knowledge of history, laws of the past centuries, topography, geography, ethnology and sociology. Additionally, abilities such as being able to freely navigate through data across various archives, paleography skill, and, quite often, having knowledge of several languages, are also required. Such skills can only be honed through years of dedicated work.

Minsk Governorate became part of Western Oblast (later known as Commune) on 1917.11.07; starting with March 1918 it became part of Belarusian People’s Republic (BNR), then, from 1919.01.01 as a part of Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic (BSSR), and a part of Lithuanian-Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic (LBSSR). In 1919–20 Baranovichyevsky and Nesvizhsky counties were created; Rechitzky, Mozyrsky and partially Bobruisky, Borisovsky and Igumensky counties were acquired by Gomel Governorate. Starting with July 1920, it became part of BSSR. When a part of the Governorate’s territories excluding Bobruisky, Borisovsky, Igumensky, Mozyrsky, Minsky and Slutzky counties were transferred to Poland, the Governorate ceased existing.

There were 860 Orthodox churches, 67 Catholic churches, 6 Protestantism religious establishments (Lutheran churches, gatherings, praying houses), 9 mosques, 36 synagogues, 420 Jewish praying houses on the territories of the county in 1893.

Genealogy and family history agency “WENDA” was found in Poland in 2015 thanks to the efforts of Witold Chanecki. The agency aims to offer its help with archive search and material processing, as well as offering its support to all the people interested in, and researching, history of their heritage originating in former Grand Dutchy of Lithuania (currently Belarus Republic and partially Lithuania). During the course of our work, we keep in close contact with numerous scientists and researchers, scientific establishments and archives across Belarus, Lithuania, Russia and Ukraine, as well as people of various artistic occupations.